Australasian Computer Music Association Annual General Meeting – Minutes

5.00-6.10 pm, Friday, 3 July 2009
The Glass House
Queensland University of Technology, Queensland, Australia

Attendance

René Wooller, Seb Tomczak, Alistair Riddell, Henry Gardner, Ben Swift, Stephan Chalup, Lea Collins, Etienne Deleflie, Paul Doornbusch, Greg Scheimer, Jon Drummond, Bruce Schneider, Andrew Brown, Andrew Sorensen, Alex Mesker, Sarah Keith, Peter McIlwain, Ross Bencina, Christian Haines

Apologies

Tim Opie

Minutes of Previous Meeting

• The minutes of the 2008 AGM were accepted unanimously: 1st Peter McIllwain, 2nd Alistair Riddell

Business arising from Minutes

None

Reports

- Only the treasurer's report submitted, as the respective officer holders were not present.
- ACTION: Executive required to acquire remaining reports.

Treasurer's Report

- Deferred
- ACTION: Executive to confer through email within a month of the AGM regarding financial position of ACMA.
- Bank balance: \$8000 approx.

Conference Format Change

Website

- Technically worked well and provided a strong foundation for future conferences
- Needs minor UI improvements

Elections

- President: Tim Opie
- Vice President: René Wooller
- Treasurer: Lea Collins
 - ACTION: executive should contact Lea as to her availability with respect to task of treasurer i.e. confirmation.

- Secretary: Seb Tomczak
- Promotions: Alex Mesker
- Web Officer" Sarah Keith
- Publications Officer: Christian Haines
- Public Officer: Ross Bencina
- List Officer: unfilled
- Membership Officer: unfilled
- State Representatives: unfilled WA, NT, TAS
- Regional Reps: New Zealand (John Coulter)
- Note all elections were uncontested with a single nomination.

New Zealand Symposium

- It was recommended and endorsed that ACMA support / sponsor this event.
- This would come in the form of either/or: small grant / travel bursaries for Australians.
- ACTION: executive further discussion required and communication with John Coulter.

2010 Conference

- The first choice at this stage is ANU (Alistair Riddell).
- **ACTION:** executive further discussions need to be held with Alistair with respect to hosting the 2010 conference.
- Other options and considerations are:
 - o UTS (Andrew Johnson) as an ancillary to NIME.
 - o Tasmania, Hobart (Kevin Purcell).
 - Western Australia, Perth (Cat Hope)
 - New South Wales, Wollongong (TAFE, Greg Scheimer)
 - Victoria, Melbourne (SIAL, Lawrence Harvey)
- Suggestions were made regarding looking at a thematic variation for the conference, such as computational art.

Other Notes

- The issue of ICMC / ACMA conference proceeding being unranked under the new ERA scheme was mentioned and the implications this holds for future conferences.
- Alistair Riddell noted that the Chroma ISSN Number might require maintenance –
 ACTION: Christian Haines to follow up.
- Thanks was made to the outgoing president Peter McIlwain and executive committee members Andrew Sorensen and Christian Haines with respect to their contributions over the last 4 years.

Meeting Closed

Minutes by Christian Haines ACMA Secretary July 2009