ACMC 2003

Australasian Computer Music Association Conference 2003

Keynote Address:

Gil Weinberg: Interconnected Musical Networks – Bringing Expression and Thoughtfulness to Collaborative Group Playing and Lindsay Vickery: Interview with Gil Weinberg

Fully Refereed Papers

Non-Refereed Papers

Artist Talks and Studio Reports

Other Artist Talk and Studio Report Titles:


Gil Weinberg (USA)

Gil Weinberg is a member of the Hyperinstrument group at MIT Media Laboratory. His research centers on designing musical networks for group collaboration with a special focus on devices and applications for novices and children. His publications appear in Computer Music Journal, Leonardo Music Journal, and Personal Technologies and in conference proceedings such as ICMC, CIM and CHI. He has been commissioned to compose and develop workshops and installations by orchestras, art exhibitions, and festivals worldwide. His work has been featured at Ars Electronica, the Smithsonian Museum, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the Cooper Hewitt Museum, the National Irish Symphony Orchestra and the Scottish BBC Symphony Orchestra, among others. Before coming to MIT Mr. Weinberg founded Sense Multimedia and served as the director of product design at MusicNotes, where he was responsible for the development of a number of influential music software packages. He received his MS in media arts and sciences from MIT and his B.A. majoring in music, arts, and computer science from Tel Aviv University, where he founded the electronic music studio in the musicology department and developed the electronic music curriculum.

Bernard Parmegiani: (FRANCE)

Parmegiani entered the Group of Musical Research in 1959 where he studied electroacoustic music under Pierre Schaeffer. Programmed in international festivals and concerts on throughout the world he has been awarded the Prix de l’Académie du Disque Français (1979); Prix de la SACEM (1981); Les Victoires de la Musique (1990); and the Prix «Magister» au Concours International de Bourges (1991). His work has expanded from the traditional world of Musique Concrete to include video art in works such as: The Eye listens (1973), Jeux of artifices (1979) and the transparent Screen (1973). He also been involved in the nexus between improvisation techniques and electroacoustic music through work with various free jazz groups: J-L Chautemps, B Vitet, Michel Portal and Popular music groups such as The Third Ear Band and Air.

Joseph Waters: (USA)

Joseph Waters studied composition at Yale University, the Universities of Oregon and Minnesota, and Stockholms Musikpedagogiska Institut. His primary teachers were Jacob Druckman, Bernard Rands, Roger Reynolds, Dominick Argento, Martin Bresnick, Robert Kyr and Jeffrey Stolet. He is a member of the first generation of American classical composers who grew up playing in rock bands. Throughout his career he has been intrigued by the connections, confluences, and tensions which entangle and bind the great musics of Europe and Africa. Much of his work involves interactions between electronic and acoustic instruments. He has been involved in Inter-disciplinary and collaborative works on and off since the early 1980’s. His works are regularly performed around the world. Principal performances include the Festival of Chinese Arts (Hong Kong), the International Computer Music Conference (ICMA), ISMEAM ‘98 (Hungary), the ALTERNATIVA Festival Moscow (Russia), MUSICA NOVA, in Londrina, Brazil and across the United States. Waters is the Artistic Director of the North West Electro-Acoustic Music Organization (NWEAMO) in Portland, Oregon. He also founded and co-directed Network for New Music in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania during the 1980s.He has received numerous awards in composition, including National Endowment for the Arts/Rockefeller Foundation (through the Painted Bride Arts Center, Philadelphia), Regional Arts and Culture Council and Pennsylvania Council on the Arts grants. He taught music composition, theory and electronic music at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon from 1993—2001. From fall 2001 he is Assistant Professor and Director of Electro-Acoustic and Media Composition at San Diego State University.

Ensemble-in-Residence: Blisters (AUS)

Blisters is Australia’s first ensemble of interactive-electroacoustic instrument builders. The quintet boasts nearly 100 years worth of collective experience in this area and its members have been building instruments, composing and improvising since the 1970s. Automatic violins, thinking-instruments, modified instruments, LightHarps, giant Laser lyres, real air and sensorlab guitars, microtonal instruments, installations, Leather serpents and retro-radio style objects are just some of music making machines you would expect to experience at any given Blisters event. Blisters is Jon Rose, Rainer Linz, Tom Fryer, Joanne Cannon and Stuart Favilla. The ensemble aims to explore 21st Century music-making through instrument development, behaviour, interaction, group-improvisation, production and performance.

Hosted at

studio for research in performance technology 0893706826 WAAPA@ECU 2 Bradford St Mount Lawley 6050